Wood Centre Courses

The Sylva Wood Centre offers a prime location for learning and skills development, situated in the heart of the Oxfordshire countryside.

We offer excellent facilities for courses in woodworking, forestry and rural management, outdoor learning, and other subjects. Courses are set among a thriving community of wood businesses, surrounded by an attractive treescape. From 2019, our new Teaching Barn will offer specialist learning space. The Sylva Wood Centre is just 5 miles from Didcot Parkway railway station and 10 miles from Oxford City.

"I can't think of anything that could have improved a perfect couple of days – I will be signing up for another one soon."

Gift vouchers are available for courses, providing a helpful discount for someone special. To find out more visit our shop

Treewrighting and timber-framing course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Wednesday, 20th March 2019
1 day
£100.00
5 places remaining

Treewrighting and timber-framing course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Thursday, 21st March 2019
1 day
£100.00
8 places remaining

Treewrighting and timber-framing course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Friday, 22nd March 2019
1 day
£100.00
8 places remaining

Treewrighting and timber-framing course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Saturday, 23rd March 2019
1 day
£100.00
6 places remaining

Saxon building woodwork, or 'treewrighting'

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Damian Goodburn
Saturday, 23rd March 2019
1 day
£75.00
6 places remaining

Treewrighting and timber-framing course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Sunday, 24th March 2019
1 day
£100.00
9 places remaining

Hurdle-making course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Simon Farndon
Saturday, March 23, 2019
2 days
£200.00
7 places remaining

Knife skills and whittling

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Martin Damen
Saturday, April 13, 2019
1 day
£95.00
5 places remaining

Spoon carving taster day

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Martin Damen
Sunday, April 14, 2019
1 day
£110.00
6 places remaining

Make a Canoe Paddle

category: WOODWORKING   tutored by Colin Henwood
Saturday, April 27, 2019
2 days
£225.00
5 places remaining

Timber-Framing and Raising - 3 July

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
1 day
£100.00
10 places remaining

Timber-Framing and Raising - 4 July

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Thursday, July 4, 2019
1 day
£100.00
10 places remaining

Timber-Framing and Raising - 5 July

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Friday, July 5, 2019
1 day
£100.00
10 places remaining

Timber-Framing and Raising - 6 July

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Saturday, July 6, 2019
1 day
£100.00
10 places remaining

Timber-Framing and Raising - 7 July

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Carpenters' Fellowship
Sunday, July 7, 2019
1 day
£100.00
10 places remaining

Traditional thatching course

category: CRAFT   tutored by Alan Jones
Saturday, August 10, 2019
1 day
£75.00
5 places remaining

Traditional thatching course

category: CRAFT   tutored by Alan Jones
Sunday, August 11, 2019
1 day
£75.00
5 places remaining

Traditional thatching course

category: CRAFT   tutored by Alan Jones
Monday, August 12, 2019
1 day
£75.00
5 places remaining

Traditional thatching course

category: CRAFT   tutored by Alan Jones
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
1 day
£75.00
5 places remaining

Traditional thatching course

category: CRAFT   tutored by Alan Jones
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
1 day
£75.00
5 places remaining

Spoon Carving two-day course

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Martin Damen
Saturday, August 31, 2019
2 days
£215.00
6 places remaining

Knife skills and whittling

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Martin Damen
Saturday, October 5, 2019
1 day
£95.00
8 places remaining

Spoon carving taster day

category: GREEN-WOODWORKING   tutored by Martin Damen
Sunday, October 6, 2019
1 day
£110.00
6 places remaining